Profile Privacy Page of Facebook
Browse articles:
Auto Beauty Business Culture Dieting DIY Events Fashion Finance Food Freelancing Gardening Health Hobbies Home Internet Jobs Law Local Media Men's Health Mobile Nutrition Parenting Pets Pregnancy Products Psychology Real Estate Relationships Science Seniors Sports Technology Travel Wellness Women's Health
Browse companies:
Automotive Crafts & Gifts Department Stores Electronics Fashion Food & Drink Health & Beauty Home & Garden Online Services Sports & Outdoors Subscription Boxes Toys, Kids & Baby Travel & Events

Profile Privacy Page of Facebook

Despite the relatively complicated set of privacy options on Face-book, actually setting the privacy on any given item is relatively simple.

Despite the relatively complicated set of privacy options on Facebook, actually setting the privacy on any given item is relatively simple.

Profile Privacy page:

The Profile Privacy page allows you to control the visibility of the static information that lives on your Profile. This includes what shows up in the left column of your Profile and the Info tab of your Profile. You can access these settings by clicking Settings on the big blue bar on top, and the selecting the Privacy tab on the left.

There are four distinct sections on the Profile Privacy page itself that cover most of the privacy-related options you have for the static information on your Profile.

Profile: The Profile section allows you to control who can see what on your Profile. In this section, you can control who can see your Basic information, including your current city, gender, and hometown; your interests, including your activities, favorites, political and religious affiliations, and your relationship status; your education and work information; your connections and groups; videos and photos of you; and every part of your contact information including phone numbers, e-mail and physical addresses.

Within the Profile settings you also have the capability to set a privacy default for your Publisher, the box at the top of your home page and Profile from which you can set your status and post links.When you set your default to a particular audience, all posts you make through the Publisher will be visible to that audience. If you usually want to publish to just your friends,set this setting as the Publisher Default to Friends by selecting Friends from the drop-down menu. If you want to publish to most of your friends except your co-workers, you can do that by selecting Custom from the drop-down menu and selecting Friends, Except Coworkers.You can always override the default on the publisher itself if you have a particular post that you want to share more or less broadly than your default.

Click here to see Profile Page:www.facebook.com/home.php#!/settings/

Search: The Search section controls who can find you in a search for your name on Facebook. This section also controls whether your public search listing gets indexed in outside search engines. In addition, you can decide what ways people can interact with you after they find you in a search. For example, you can decide that strangers can’t Poke you, but they can add you as a friend.

News Feed and Wall: News Feed is the constantly updating list of stories about your friends’ actions on Facebook. News Feed appears on your friends’ home pages. The Wall is a list of your recent activity on Facebook that appears on your profile. This section lets you decide what kind of actions generate stories in your profile and News Feed stories in your friends’ News Feeds. This does not cover the set of stories that go on your wall or your friends’ News Feeds through the Publisher. Those stories are covered by the Publish default, which is described in the preceding Profile section. The News Feed and Wall setting specifically lets you control whether or not stories are published when you write on friends’ walls, comment on a piece of content, change your profile info, such as adding or removing a favorite band, or add a friend. When people arrive at your profile, the Profile tab privacy level will override any more open levels of privacy you set for individual pieces of content. For example, if you posted a Status asking for restaurant recommendations in a new city, and set the level to Friends of Friends, but your Wall is only set to Friends, then friends of friends arriving at your Profile won’t see your Wall, and therefore won’t see that status. However, if the friend of friend conducts a search containing a word in your status, or a mutual friend shares a link to your status with a friend of friend, that person will see it, because although you’ve restricted visibility of your Wall, you’ve granted access to the individual piece of content if she finds it some other way.

Block: Blocking someone on Facebook is more or less the digital equivalent to some combination of a restraining order and a witness protection program. For the most part, if you add someone to your Block list, he can’t see any traces of you on Facebook.

Need an answer?
Get insightful answers from community-recommended
experts
in Privacy & Online Safety on Knoji.
Would you recommend this author as an expert in Privacy & Online Safety?
You have 0 recommendations remaining to grant today.
Comments (0)
ARTICLE DETAILS
RELATED ARTICLES
RELATED CATEGORIES
RECENT SEARCHES ON KNOJI SHOPPING